Need some advice please

I was lucky enough to come upon a benefactor from whom I received a good amount of some type of cedar, the lengths indicated by the yard sticks. Does any one know what type of cedar it is and what it would be good for? This is the first cedar I have had. Appears to be free of cracks and very few knots. Any help, guesses or other wise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Jack

16 Replies

You could send it all to me, and I will make a couple of armoires out of it.

CHRIS, Charlottetown PEI Canada. Anytime you can repurpose, reuse, or recycle, everyone wins!

Thorreain. You you ars such a kind and helpful guy………

Jack, where is it from? I’m far from an expert but my guess is western costal cedar, regardless of the type it looks like you scored big time.

RFloydWright

I see a beautiful cedar chest! And it smells good, too!

Thanks guys. He only knew it was from somewhere way up north and way out west, which I figured that also. Ha ha Certainly not from around here. Like I said I have never had any cedar and don’t know its properties as far as finishing, staining or top coating, or if it is used mostly for linings. It is very light for the size the pieces are, but just beautiful grain and color. Regardless free is always good!!

Jack

Looks like Western Red Cedar to me. We have tons of it on Vancouver Island. It’s pretty, has extreme rot resistance, and weathers to a nice silver colour if left alone. On the other hand it is soft, doesn’t hold fastenings well and splinters from it infect.

It is a widely used wood on the west coast for all kinds of craft items and also for boatbuilding and it has been since looooong before the white man came.

The early bird gets the worm but its the second mouse that gets the cheese.

Thank you Paul, that gives me some ideas.

Jack

If nothing else, build some chests and line then with strips of this stuff. They will sell like hotcakes.

Losing fingers since 1969