Some what new to woodworking

Hello Everyone

I used to work in a shop in Calgary Alberta called Solid Stairs building spiral staircases, I was really young and didn’t fully appreciate the talent that surrounded me at the time. I recall bits and pieces of certain things and a few tricks.

How I wish I could go back in time and talk to all those guys again. We had about six guys from around the world working in that shop. which were all masters in their own field of woodworking.
Just wanted to give those guys a shout out.

So I’m in the process of building a little wood shop in my garage which sucks because winter is coming and its not insulated, oh well onwards and forwards. Ninety percent of my tools are cheap (MasterCraft) only because its what I could afford plus if I break anything which I know I will it cost me much. I hope to learn a lot from all the people on this website.

Two quick questions. I was watching a video (https://youtu.be/spX2BpulREc) on router tables and thought of two questions. One was sort of answered and I didn’t see the answer to the other question. First one was the instructor saying in the video to never use a mitre gauge but answered Marks question and said there is exceptions. The exception the instructor was referring to was a incra system. I don’t know what a incra system is but can you not use a mitre gauge at other times? second question was from Kris Hunt which was why use a bearing at all when using a mitre table? I didn’t see the answer to that, could someone please answer that question I’m very interested in knowing the reply

Thank you
Rob Passmore

Hi Rob,
For the weekend wood warrior Mastercraft and the like work great. I really only invest in certain items, ie table saw, measuring devices and the tools you know you will be using alot. As you get better or use them more. When something goes replace it with better.

As for your quersitons: